migueltio

April 17, 2011

Expectations Too High

Filed under: Uncategorized — migueltio @ 9:07 pm

What do I expect

expect of this life

do I have higher expectations

than what I actually see

or do I see things

that exceed

the expectations I hold?

Sometimes I am so afraid

to carry solid expectations

worried that I will upset those

whom I am directing my energies

because they cannot live up

to my aim or focus

or at times the opposite

and I fail to meet what others

have in their minds.

I detest failing others

as a family member

I want my wife and children to know

that everything I do

or try to do for them

carries more love

than they can imagine

just as a teacher

I want my students to know

that I am their greatest cheerleader

to try their hardest to succeed

in meeting their weekly challenges

just as a friend

I want all my friends

to know I care

not just in times of weather fair

but in the times intense

with sadness or despair

when I am not nearby

my heart is always there.

~Miguel

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

