migueltio

August 29, 2013

Mother’s Love

Filed under: Poetry — migueltio @ 10:47 am

Mother of the skies
above me who guides me
with the lights of the earth
below I am given vision through
the darkness from your stars by
night and warmth in my heart for
all I see with your daytime sun.

My hands you possess as
kneeling I am before you
reading the eyes you caste upon
me in a mournful expression
that pierces my skin clear
to my soul for all the endured
suffering of your children’s generations.

My eyes fixed upon yours
filling with tears of many sorrows
my clothing taken as you hold
me my skin transforming into
a surface of lashes of gashes
that your children long past
endured so I could walk today.

With each lash I scream
for the many uprooted
wiped out by invasion
leveled by disease
for The Caribbean for Africa
for North for South the
children of The Americas.

Still you hold me as
blood and sweat bathe me from
head to toe you paint me
with many colors of healing as you
embrace my stripes
of sham transforming my
wounded mind into knowledge filled love.

Clothing me in a soft
linen of the alpaca adorning
my neck and my chest with
beads I breathe in the beauty of
your scent as your chocolate hair
tickles my shoulders I love your
darker skin with the taste of my kisses.

~Miguel

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

